## THE BETTY SHUTTLEWORTH MEMORIAL BOWL

## **History**

Betty's husband presented THE BETTY SHUTTLEWORTH MEMORIAL BOWL to the Ladies' Club in May 1978. It was his wish that the Rose Bowl should be USED for flowers. It was first played for on Wednesday 21st June, 1978 when it was won by Ada Aspinwall. Thereafter the Competition has taken place on a Wednesday in March close to Betty's birthday, the 23rd. Betty joined Coulsdon Court in the 1960's. She was an active and loyal member with a very lively and cheerful personality. She became treasurer in 1976 and during her year in office became seriously ill and had to give up the job. She died in March - April 1978. Shortly after her very good friend Helen Pope. They lived in the same road and Helen was particularly good to Betty during Betty's long illness. Betty's name appears several times on our Honours Boards. The Memorial Bowl is 43/4ins. high with a plinth of 31/4ins. The overall height is 8ins. The diameter of the Bowl to the outer rim is 9½ins, and the base 7½ins.

The rim has a scalloped edge and a flower mesh. Trophy not to be engraved. The inscription on the side of the Bowl is:-

The Betty Shuttleworth Memorial Bowl ~ 1978 ~

## **Format**

All Handicaps - 18 hole Stableford Competition. Partners shall be drawn in an open draw.

## **Prizes**

Winner Betty Shuttleworth Bowl + £5 voucher

Second £5 voucher Third £3 voucher

Winners	
4070	

1978	Ada Aspinwall	2001	Heather Lancaster
1979	Joan Rosser	2002	Sheila Clarke
1980	Jean Cranch	2003	Annmarie Duddy
1981	Hazel Warrell	2004	Susan Walsh
1982	Joy Reed	2005	Erica Pickard
1983	Rose Greenaway	2006	Viv Williams
1984	Hazel Winterton	2007	Angela Stanley
1985	Sheila Boniface	2008	Heather Lancaster
1986	Evelyn Brodie	2009	Annmarie Duddy
1987	Audrey Horton	2010	Annmarie Duddy
1988	Evelyn Brodie	2011	Elaine Cann
1989	Pearl Kerr	2012	Linda Oram
1990	Marie Palmer	2013	Jan Suter
1991	Barbara Edney	2014	Cancelled
1992	Evelyn Brodie	2015	Carol Foley
1993	Barbara Edney		-
1994	Laine Talamo		
1995	Sheila Clarke		
1996	Joy Reed		
1997	Dee Alston		
1998	Jean Cranch		
1999	Marilyn Walsh		
2000	Betty Tyrrell		